DIY Cheerful Potholders & Matching Hand-Towels

handtowlspthlders

Bright handmade potholders and matching hand towels are sure to brighten up any kitchen! This is a great addition to any spring cleaning! While we are on that…check out my 2 Week Spring Cleaning Challenge!

These would certainly help to liven up the freshly cleaned space. The fabrics are to die for, and they are S-I-M-P-L-E to make!

Here is the run down… 

Supplies needed:

Scrap fabric (mine were 7″x 7″)

Matching double sided bias tape

Crocheted lace edging

Thread

cotton blend batting

Plain hand-towels (I got mine at our local dollar store)

round

Potholder  Instructions

Step 1: Cut your fabric, and batting into squares. (I made mine 7×7, but there isn’t really a standard size. Just make sure it would fit nice in your hand.)

Step 2:  Sandwich the batting between the two pieces of fabric. Sew with your machine, from one corner to the opposite corner. Repeat this on either side about 1 1/2″ apart until you run off the square.

6

 

Step 3: To finish the edges nicely, I used double sided bias tape.  I Started at one corner of the square, and followed along the edge until I was about 1/2″ from the end. Then I cut some extra slack off of the bias tape so that I could loop it to creative a hanging loop. Then I finished the stitch to close it.

all

EASY! Only three steps! Now on to the hand-towels!!

yandb

Hand-Towels Instructions

Step 1: Measure the width of the towel to see what length you would need for your lace and material. Pre- cut all your supplies.

Step 2: First fold under and sew a closed edge (on the edge) of the fabric to the hand-towel. Then continue your stitch thru to the others side of the hand-towel. Before reaching the opposite edge, fold remaining fabric under so that you can have another finished edge.

Step 3: Next is to sew on the lace trim. I started by folding and sewing down the edge, and then follow my seam line across to the other folded edge. Finish the stitch. You can see that I layered the two pieces so that the fabric would have a finished stitch on the top, as well as the bottom. This eliminates fraying from continual washing.

8

 

The busier patters of hand-towels I just added the lace trim.

7

I had fun creating the sets to go along with these. They were such fun fabric patterns and cheerful colors! It is sure to brighten anyone’s kitchen!

5

4

3

2

1

 

If you liked this crafty post, check out some of my others: DIY Owl Pillows or DIY Fabric Rosettes!

sig

 

 

 

If you are like some of my friends and can’t craft without gluing their fingers shut, or just simply don’t have a creative bone (or time). Let me know.. I’d be happy to take orders! Just click the link below!place order

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “DIY Cheerful Potholders & Matching Hand-Towels

  1. annainternational says:

    These are so cute! I’m sure all of us at Fiesta Friday get through oven-gloves and pot-holders pretty fast with all the cooking we do – maybe next time we can make our own now! Thank you so much for sharing with us all!

    Like

  2. Angie says:

    How adorable! My sewing machine is collecting dust. Maybe it’s time to get creative, starting with these colorful & cheerful pot holders. Thanks for sharing with Fiesta Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jhuls says:

    How lovely are these?! ❤ I remember we were making potholders when we were in grade school. It's a part of our activities in our Home Economic organization. I was just thinking of getting myself a sewing machine, but I don't know where would I place it – I have a very small space and I am near to losing my space at home due to kitchen stuffs. 😀

    Thanks for sharing at Fiesta Friday. Have a lovely week! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment